Spring Summer Fall Winter


Article I. Name

The name of this organization shall be the Faculty Assembly of New River Community College.

Article II. Purpose

The purpose of this organization shall be to participate as an advisory body in the formulation, implementation and review of institutional policy and to provide the means for the faculty to initiate action on matters with which it is directly concerned

Article III. Functions

The functions of the Faculty Assembly are:

  1. To accept and share responsibility with administration and students in all efforts to improve the stature and the usefulness of the College.
  2. To consider policies, programs and other matters as the administration, student organization, and individual faculty may propose.
  3. To express opinion on College affairs as the Faculty Assembly deems appropriate and necessary.
  4. To afford channels and procedures whereby communications within the College may flow freely, fully and systematically.
  5. To establish within the laws applicable to New River Community College an effective means for advising and responding to the Administration, the College Board and the State Board On College Affairs.

Article IV. Membership

Section 1. Eligibility for Membership - Persons eligible to become members in the Faculty Assembly shall consist of those members of New River Community College who are permanent, full-time teaching personnel whose primary appointment is an academic rank in a teaching discipline. Full-time teaching faculty below the rank of Division Chairman and Management Council will be eligible for membership. Others eligible to become members include non-teaching persons holding faculty rank who are not supervising faculty. Part-time faculty members who teach six or more credit hours per semester may be a part of the Faculty Assembly, if they desire.

Section 2. Voting Members - The voting members of the Faculty Assembly shall consist of those individuals who express a desire to be a part of the Assembly by paying a nominal fee, mutually agreed upon by the Executive Council.

Section 3. Guests - Those persons connected with the administration, faculty and staff who do not qualify for membership may be invited to participate from time to time in Faculty Assembly meeting and/or functions on a non-voting basis.

Section 4. - Questions regarding other eligibility for membership in the New River Faculty Assembly shall be considered by the Executive Council and their recommendations shall be presented to the New River Faculty Assembly for a vote.

Article V. Officers

Section 1. Composition - The officers of the Faculty Assembly are: President, Vice-President, Secretary/Treasurer and Parliamentarian.

Section 2. President - The President conducts the business at all meetings of the Faculty Assembly and Executive Council. He/she shall appoint all special committees and shall represent the Assembly at College Council and the College Board.

Section 3. Vice-President - The Vice-President will fill the duties of the President in his absence.

Section 4. Secretary/Treasurer - The Secretary/Treasurer shall keep the minutes of all regular Assembly, Special, and Executive Council meetings and shall distribute Assembly minutes to all the faculty; he/she shall be responsible for the collection of dues, an accurate account of the budget, and sending cards and flowers, all as deemed by the Assembly.

Section 5. Parliamentarian - The Parliamentarian shall determine questions of parliamentary procedure at all Assembly meetings.

Section 6. Eligibility - Officers may be nominated from the membership as covered in Article IV, Section 1.

Section 7. Term of Office - The President, Vice-President, Secretary/Treasurer and Parliamentarian shall be elected for a term of one year, and may be re-elected for one additional one-year term.

Section 8. Executive Council - The four officers as mentioned above and two representatives from each division shall constitute the Executive Council and may meet from time to time as needed as a separate body to consider any matter related to the governance of the organization.

Article VI. Committees

Section 1. Nominating Committee - The Nominating Committee shall be selected by the President with the concurrence of the membership of the Faculty Assembly. It shall consist of four (4) members. The committee shall, at the last regular meeting, present a slate of officers, with a minimum of two nominations for each executive office. Additional nominations may be made from the floor.

Section 2. Special Committees - The President shall appoint, with the concurrence of the Faculty Assembly, such special committees as are deemed necessary for the study of special problems. Selection of members assigned to the committees and the length of their term shall be at the discretion of the President.

Article VII. Meetings and Procedures

Section 1. Regular Meetings - Regular meetings are to be held each month of the academic year provided there is sufficient need for such a meeting. The President will announce the exact hour and will publish the agenda. Any member of the Faculty Assembly may present business to the President prior to the circulation of the agenda.

Section 2. Special Meetings - Special meetings may be called by the President, upon one day's written notice, which shall contain the purpose for the meeting. No additional matters shall be brought before the meeting.

If ten percent of the Faculty Assembly request a special meeting, the President will call a special meeting in accordance with Section 2, Paragraph 1.

Section 3. Quorum - A majority of the voting members shall constitute a quorum at a regular or a special meeting of the Faculty Assembly. A quorum shall be required to conduct any business.

Section 4. Voting - Any voting member of the Faculty Assembly shall be entitled to have the floor and to vote at any Faculty Assembly meeting.

If a quorum be present, the affirmative vote of the majority of the voting members present shall be the act of the Faculty Assembly except as otherwise stated by these by-laws. If a quorum is not present, the vote may be taken by means of a written ballot distributed to voting members.

For all legislative action, there shall be one reading of the stated motion before a vote is taken.

Debate shall be closed only by a motion for the previous question. Such a motion requires a second and a majority vote.

All voting shall be done by a show-of-hands or voice vote except when a secret ballot is requested by two or more members.

Section 5. Rules of Order - In all matters of procedure not specified herein, Robert's Rules of Order, Newly Revised, shall be applied.

Section 6. Adjournment - Each meeting shall be adjourned only upon a motion duly seconded and passed by a majority vote.

Article VIII. Amendment and Ratification

This constitution shall be ratified or amended by the membership at prescribed meetings by a two-thirds majority of a quorum. This document, prior to revision, and any amendment shall be distributed to the membership in writing at least five days prior to the meeting in which ratification or amendment shall be considered.

Back to Top

Copyright © New River Community College